May Arts, Xyron, & LYB Blog Hop

Hello friends! We are officially back now from DC, returned from a wonderful, inspiring, amazing, and rather exhausting 5 days away. I knew this trip would be a busy one. But even so, I still wasn’t prepared physically for the shear number of steps one must take in touring the city and surrounds. The shear magnitude of the steps, the never-ending steps, some in rain, and a few in heat…..And although I knew that this trip would be an emotional one for me, it’s still hard to truly imagine until you are actually there, standing in front of our nation’s capital, gazing upon the purest masterpieces of art, science, and technology ever made, trailing your hand upon the hundreds of names etched into the Vietnam Memorial wall. These things are emotional for me. I am overwhelmed, my friends. I’m tired. I am grateful. And I’m sure glad to be home. What an amazing journey it has been.

Now I just need to figure out how to download my trip photos from my phone! hahaha!

So although one busy week has come to an end, another one is just beginning. Pete and I have a two-day college orientation to attend later this week, and suddenly, I find myself right in the thick of CHA project time. Such an exciting time of year, but goodness……..busy, busy. And of course I have some fun things to share with you all this week here on the old blog, starting with a blog hop today with May Arts, Xyron, AND Little Yellow Bicycle.
AudreyPettit LYB Vintage Summer Family Frame
You all know by now that I am a sucker for little framed home decor projects, and I am super excited about this new frame I found recently for about a buck while out junk hunting with mom. The long, skinny shape seemed absolutely perfect for showcasing one of my favorite design elements, the banner. I simply removed the glass, painted the frame, strung the opening with adorable May Arts plaid ribbon, and had fun adding layers and details and goodies from Little Yellow Bicycle’s Vintage Summer collection.
AudreyPettit LYB Vintage Summer Family Frame4
Loving that happy picnic tablecloth background paper!
AudreyPettit LYB Vintage Summer Family Frame3
And I always love all the fun die cut shapes in the Paper Crafting Kits, used here to make the rounded buntings, the leaf accents, and the layered flowers. I added a few canvas 3-D stickers from the Fabric Favorites sheet, too.
AudreyPettit LYB Vintage Summer Family Frame2
For more details on today’s blog hop, pop over to the Little Yellow Bicycle blog. There’s lots more projects to see, and of course there are some great prize giveaways from all three companies. Be sure to check back, as we’ll be hopping each day this week, with new projects and new giveaways every day, including some huge grand prize drawings on Friday. Good luck, my friends! And thanks SO much for stopping by today!
______________________________________________________________
Supplies:
VS-109 Picnic Check/Navy Stars
VS-134 Journaling Cards – with embossing (10 pieces)
VS-305 Paper Crafting Kit (66 pieces)
VS-220 Fabric Favorites (8 pieces)
NA-TC20 Tiny Clothespins – Words
May Arts
391 5/8″x30y SOLID / PLAID
KB 3/16″x100y – SOLID/CHECK
.SM 400y – String/Burlap
Xyron
1/2″ (13mm) Double Sided Tape
3/16″ (5mm) Dots
22 thoughts on “May Arts, Xyron, & LYB Blog Hop

  1. Glad you had a great time in DC! I believe ‘GiGi’ – the frozen custard truck was out of commission while you were there :(

    Now – your project is the cutest thing ever! I really have to look at frames differently next time I’m out at a store! This is just awesome!

  2. Glad you are home safe and sound. This is such a warm, welcoming summer home decor piece. I love all the little details and how you transformed a junk frame into a work of art.

  3. It is one of the most fantastic places! We live near and try and get days in here and there! It seems like we will never seeit all! As I type this, I am passenger headed to NC to round out the rest of our vacation before we get headed back to a busy reality!

    Your project is amazing! I totally heart banners myself and this was a perfect way to display it! What a fab snag on the frame!

  4. Sounds like a fascinating trip. When I had my Civil War book business, I worked in the DC area at different shows and seminars. The Penmaker and our kids always got to partake of the history while mom was working. I’m very thankful they were able to take advantage of those times.
    There’s nothing as rewarding as finding a bargain and turning it into a beautiful piece of decor. What a fabulous banner frame, Audrey… love the addition of the tiny clothespins!!!
    Have a great week, dear friend!

  5. Such a happy decor piece. The bright and fresh colours are sure to put a smile on anyone’s face.
    Glad you enjoyed your trip! I went to DC with you via your photos on FB! lol

  6. Glad your back :-) Sounds like you got lots os exercise :-) I would love to visit someday!! I love your frame and gorgeous blooms!!!

  7. I have got to start hitting the thrift stores. I have got to be missing out on some super fines like this frame. Love the homey look you achieved with that great background paper. So glad to hear your trip was a success. Hope you can get those photos downloaded. :-) Hugs!

  8. I too could not believe how many steps you have to take to tour DC, and I have bad foot pain so was more noticeable for me, but truly a great destination. I really love using paper for home décor projects and yours is so great! Thanks for the inspiration, now put your feet up!

  9. Sweet gorgeous framed project here, Audrey!!! Love that background and all the added elements! Glad that you had a great time in DC. There is always so much to do there. It surely makes one proud when visiting such an awesome city!

Leave a Reply

