Quilt Market with Therm O Web

????????????

Although I’ve never considered myself much of a sewer, I’ve long had a secret love affair with stitching and fabrics. So when I was asked to create a few projects for the International Quilt Market last month using designer Pat Sloan’s newly released line of fabrics for Moda, Bobbins and Bits……well, I was more than a little excited.

AudreyPettitThermOWebiPadCaseTut1

Bobbins and Bits is such a bright and happy fabric collection, filled with vivid summer colors and prints. LOVE it! Could not wait to try out those adorable Jelly Roll strips and put my rudimentary sewing skills into play on this fun iPad cover.

AudreyPettitThermOWebiPadCase2

The base of my cover is heavy wool felt, and I made a happy little home-sweet-home scene to go on top. Used a combo of machine and hand-stitching to create the house and garden, and even did a bit of traditional quilt stitching, since this was the Quilt Market for goodness sake!

AudreyPettitThermOWebiPadCase4

The house is a bit of a rickety thing. Opposite to a true quilter, I just free-cut all the pieces without guidelines or measuring, letting my inner creative spirit flow. I stuffed the roof with a bit of polyfill for dimension. All the little applique pieces are easily held in place with the help of Therm O Web’s fusible fleece and interfacing.

AudreyPettitThermOWebiPadCase3The flowers are simple die cuts. I folded them into quarters and tacked them down with a quick cross stitch. The leaves and stems are all snippets of scraps. I used a strip of the Jelly Roll to create a gathered ruffle trim on the side.

AudreyPettitThermOWebiPadCase

I have the full tutorial up on the Therm O Web blog, in case you’re interested in learning more. Therm O Web is offering a lovely giveaway of sewing and quilting products for one lucky winner, too.

Today is a big, big day for us, my friends. My son will be walking down the aisle, accepting his diploma this afternoon. Time for me to get the tissue handy!

Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a wonderful day!

__________________________________

Supplies:

Therm O Web HeatnBond Iron-On Fusible Interfacing
Therm O Web HeatnBond Iron-On Fusible Fleece
Therm O Web StitchnSew Sew-In Fleece
Therm O Web PeelnStick Ruler Tape
Therm O Web PeelnStick Fabric Fuse Tape

Fabric and Jelly Roll: Bobbins and Bits by Pat Sloan for Moda Fabrics
Felt: Sewing Supply
Floss: DMC
Flower Die: Spellbinders
Button: Craft Supply
Polyfill Fiber

20 thoughts on “Quilt Market with Therm O Web

  1. Audrey, this is so adorable! Love that you combined free hand cutting and stitching along with traditional quilt stitching! So happy for you and your family – graduating high school is a BIG DEAL! Congrats to your son!

  2. So CUTE Audrey!!!.. Oh, but I WISH I had an iPad, but this idea could be used for a number of things.. In my case, perhaps as a trivet/potholder.. or as an art-journal cover.. right?!.. Congratulations to your son, and all your family, on the graduation of your son! Best wishes and good luck to him!!

  3. Congrats to all of you…..having a child graduate is the work of a family ! ! Best Wishes to him. I love the beautiful jelly roll and your creation is out of this world cute. Fun upscale rickety stuff for the ipad. I’ve got to get me some Therm O Web. Have fun

  4. OMG! this is fabulous! I admire your quilting projects so much although I would never try them. You are so talented! Your eye for color is excellent. I especially love the quilted swirls on the circle designs.

  5. This is soooooo cosy and lovely. Sewing is in your blood! Congrats on your boy getting his diploma…you must be one proud mama! :)

  6. What a darling house scene, Audrey! The fabric is just lovely! And, you did a marvelous job ruffled trim and snippets of fabric! Love the stuffed flap, also! Big congrats to your son on graduating from high school! Take care, hugs!

  7. oh M gee! i looooove this so much, audrey! it came out so fabulous!!! i really wish i could sew. your project makes me happy! hee hee. *hugs* and much aloha, steph :)

Leave a Reply

