Enjoy Life GiftBag with Sizzix

I’m getting a very late start to things. It’s just such a busy and happy day for us here today. Not only are the wee folk finally both officially finished with school for the year, but my parents arrived last night, as well. Now I can finally give my sweet mom her overdue birthday present and the little heart pillow I made her for Mother’s Day. And since I’m doing some gift giving today, of course I need some pretty gift packaging to go along. Sizzix dies to the rescue!

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag

I don’t always have the right size gift boxes or bags on hand, but I’ve learned that it’s quite easy to make your own packaging, like this little gusset gift bag. I love that you can modify the size to suit your gift and that you can perfectly customize it for any theme or occasion. And made from scratch from just a bit of paper, this gift bag costs way less than the store-bought variety.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag3

For the basic construction of the bag, start with a single sheet of thin paper or even wrapping paper. I used an 8.5 x 11 piece of thin kraft paper layered with a sheet of dictionary paper. You can use a 12×12 sheet, or even paper from a roll, depending upon what size you want the finished bag.

Fold in the two sides so that they just slightly overlap in the middle.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut1Secure the flaps with strong adhesive. Then fold up the bottom of the bag 1″. Open the bottom fold as shown.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut2You now have sort of a top and bottom “flap”. Fold down the top flap halfway and fold up the bottom flap so that it slightly overlaps. Secure with strong adhesive.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut3Using a bone folder or scoring tool, score 1/2″ in down each side of the bag.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut10

Now you can open up the bag, using the score lines on the side to create a valley fold.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut11

That is the basic construction. Trim the top down some if you wish.

Add color with watercolor pencils and gelatos to match your papers or theme. I also sanded my bag so the kraft paper beneath shows. You know how I like to have my junk look old and distressed…

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut4

Then blend the color using a wet paintbrush. Here you can see that I’ve started the process at the top.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut5

To close the bag, punch two holes about an inch apart at the top of the bag. Thread ribbon through the holes to the back, wrap the ribbon around to the front and tie.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut9

Now decorate your bag. My mom likes flowers, so I made a big shabby flower for the center of my bow using the Tim Holtz Tattered Florals and Tattered Leaves dies.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag2

Simply die cut several of the flower shapes from a variety of patterned papers. I used My Mind’s Eye’s The Sweetest Thing 6×6 pad for mine.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut6Ink the edges of the flowers with brown ink and crumple each flower layer lightly in your hand. Smooth them out slightly and start stacking them together. I added 4 layers of flowers, and then added a hemp bow in the center.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut7Then added the next smaller flower shape embellished with a custom bubble cap on top.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag Tut8

Adhered the flower to the gift bag, along with a few extra trims, a pair of leaves inked and folded, and a ticket tag for the sentiment.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix Enjoy Life GiftBag4Now it’s time to let my mom open her presents!

Thanks so much for stopping by, my friends! We’re in the midst of Tropical Storm Andrea here in North Carolina, but life is good! Happy weekend to you!

_________________________________________

Supplies:

Sizzix Bigz Die – Tattered Florals
Sizzix Bigz Die – Tattered Leaves
Kraft Cardstock, Dictionary Paper: The Kraft Outlet
Patterned Paper: My Mind’s Eye
Ticket Die Cut, Cardstock Sticker: Authentique
Round 25 Shape Studio Tool and Round 25 Clear Bubble Cap: Epiphany Crafts
Trim: Stampin’Up, Offray, Craft Supply
Ink: Clearsnap
Adhesive: Therm O Web

21 thoughts on “Enjoy Life GiftBag with Sizzix

  1. First off, stay safe. :-) Boy is your mom going to love getting her prezzie in this bag. The layered flowers look so cool and you’ve got some fun trims tucked in there too. Way better than any store bag. Hugs!

  2. Adorable gift bag Audrey!! Your gift wrapping is always so beautiful! Was happy to see Andrea was moving out and just saw on the weather we are getting more rain tomorrow, NC is one soggy mess! Congrats to Pete on his graduation!! Have a wonderful time with your family!

  3. I bet your Mom was so happy with the things you made. The bag is so pretty! I have some gelatos here but wasn’t sure how to use them. We are starting to get Andrea now–hoping it won’t be bad. Congrats to Pete! Have a wonderful time enjoying your family. :)

  4. What sweet packaging, Audrey…and THANKS for the tutorial…definitely looks like something I might try! LOVE that flower!!! It all looks so very sweet together!

  5. That is super! Thanks for showing the steps! I love what you did with the watercolor crayons and gelatos too! I bet mom LOVED the gifts!!!

  6. Oh my goodness! A super sweet gift bag for your Mom, Audrey! Thanks so much for the tutorial! Hope the tropical storm passes soon…take care, hugs!

  7. Your gift bag is so sweet.. I just love that flower. I always love seeing your wonderful creations. Thanks for showing us how it was done.

    Hugs~

  8. GOODNESS, ME! This gift bag is just TOO SWEET!!

    I’ve made thin bags from envelopes, but I’ve never made one from scratch. This is AMAZING! And that stacked flower — WOWSERS!!

    I’ve copied your instructions to document and will try my hand at constructing a bag VERY soon! Thanks for sharing a link for this tutorial on another post. (My email account is OUT OF CONTROL and each day I find scores of bounced messages. Last night, I deleted a couple hundred — but, YOURS, I secured from my delete button. :)

    Thanks for sharing your talents with us, Audrey ~

Leave a Reply

