Patriotic Pride with Authentique

As soon as Memorial Day hits, I like to break out the red, white, and blue decor and add a bit of patriotic flair to my home for the summer. I’ve been having so much fun making a few new goodies to add to my collection this year using Authentique’s fabulous new Americana line, Pride. Last week, I shared a little framed project I made for my front entryway table using Pride and Want2Scrap chipboard. And today, I have another frame to share.

AudreyPettit_May_Project1_Pride

Quite some time ago, I found this simple black 5×7 frame at the junk store, and it has become my favorite frame. I pulled the glass out of it so I could add lots of fun dimensional embellishments, and I switch the decorations out, too, to match the holiday or season. Right now, my frame is dressed up for the summer. And it will probably stay this way until I’m ready to change it out again for say……….. fall or Halloween. I think the frame cost me around a dollar. Sure have gotten my money’s worth out of it!

AudreyPettit_May_Project1_Pride2

Last month, I picked up the Large Originals Stars #2 die from Sizzix, and I couldn’t wait to use it on some patriotic decor. I cut lots of stars from a variety of 6×6 Bundle papers to use here. I inked each star, added a bit of machine stitching, and stacked them up for a fun 3-D effect. There’s foam adhesive between some of the layers for extra depth.

AudreyPettit_May_Project1_Pride3

Made some paper curls and threw in a bit of hand stitching. I think my stars look like bursting fireworks, don’t they? Totally perfect for the 4th of July!

AudreyPettit_May_Project1_Pride4

For now, I’ve tucked the little frame into my old funky junk tool tote sitting on my entryway bench, along with a few of my other favorite funky junk things.

P1020036

P1020037Until I’m ready to change it out again………

P1020038

Thanks so much for stopping by today, my friends! If you’d like to learn more about my frame, I’ve got the complete step-by-steps up on the Authentique blog.

Hope you all have a wonderful day!

______________________________________

Supplies:
Authentique Pride Collection: Unified 12×12 Paper, Amend 12×12 Paper, Dignity 12×12 Paper, Privilege 12×12 Paper, Foundations 12×12 Paper, 6×6 Bundle, Components Stickers
Dies: Sizzix, Papertrey Ink, Prickley Pear Rubber Stamps
Trim: Webster’s Pages
Floss: DMC
Buttons: vintage
Ink: Clearsnap
24 thoughts on “Patriotic Pride with Authentique

  1. I picked that Star die up on clearance at Michael’s for about $5 a few years back and I have to say it is one of my biggest go to dies. Your stacked stars with those adorable little curly cues are just bursting with energy Audrey. Patriotic wonderfulness! Hugs!

  2. What a fun and festive card! I love the curled paper ribbons – they give the sense of movement to your “fireworks”. Fantastic! I love decorating for summer, but I guess this year I’ll have to live vicariously through my blog reading :)

  3. Wow, Audrey!!! What a framed beauty! Fab color with all those patriotic stars! It certainly looks wonderful on your bench! I love looking at all your decorating talents…great job!!!

  4. First off – you always have your home so beautifully decorated for each season! That old tool box is awesome! And what a great idea to reuse that frame for the seasons! This ‘showcase’ is awesome!! Love those plaid stars too!!

  5. Audrey… you have definitely inspired me to do some decorating with the red/white/blue theme. I love this frame, and the way you take such care in making your home a lovely place for your family.
    Big hugs!

  6. Fantastic card! I love all the details: the paper curls, layered stars, music background, and the varied shapes on the Pursuit of Happiness label.

Leave a Reply

