Spring Bouquet

Hi Sweeties! Happy Friday! Are you all ready for the weekend?

5_8_08 1503

I’m not complaining or anything, but it sure seems like the weeks are flying by. I don’t mind so much the weekdays going quickly. It’s the weekends I wish would slow down a bit. I’ve got lots of big plans of doing nothing this weekend……

………and I’d like it to last!

5_8_08 1499

As many of you already know, I have a deep love of embroidery that goes back to my early days. Seems I’ve almost always got some sort of stitchery something going on somewhere. This is one of my latest projects. A wee bitty pillow with a happy spring bouquet.

5_8_08 1501

I don’t do a lot of planning when it comes to my sewing projects, and that is part of the fun for me. This spring floral basket is just a simple pencil-line doodle I made on scrap muslin and filled in with stitching. I drew a rough outline of the basket, and added a few lines for the flower stems. And the rest I just winged. To me it looks a bit sloppy. Homespun. Definitely handmade. And I like that.

P1010077

Happily, others seem to like it, too. Therm O Web liked it enough to picture my little pillow in their latest ad in Better Homes & Gardens American Patchwork & Quilting Magazine. How cool is that?

And Therm O Web has had so many requests for the directions and pattern, that they added this to their special feature projects, in case you’re interested in learning more. Just please don’t laugh at my sketch! I seriously wasn’t planning on needing one! ;)

P1010078

Right now I’ve got my spring pillow tucked into a basket on my side table in my sun room, along with lots of other old funky junk. Seeing it peeking there gives me a smile. Hope it does you, too.

P1010079

Thanks so much for stopping by, my friends! I hope you all have a fabulous weekend!

25 thoughts on “Spring Bouquet

  1. Oh how lovely Audrey! Your stitching is just fantastic! I can practically smell those tiny blooms…through the screen…and the snow here in CT :). Beautiful!

    Amy*

  2. Wow!!! Big congrats on the publication of this fabulous creation! I haven’t embroidered in quite awhile, but you sure inspire me to do so! Love the pretty bouquet, basket, and sweet tag! Great work as always…love it!!! Have a great weekend, hugs!

  3. Hi Audrey!

    Your blogpost makes me smile big time!
    I couldn’t agree with you more about time flying…
    anyway, your pillow is incredibly beautiful and the way you stage your creations is equally inspiring!

    so a BIG thank You to You and Have a fabulous week-end!

  4. Well why wouldn’t everyone be clamoring for the instructions. LOL Your sewing projects are always publication worthy. The rustic and homey feel of this one is so soothing. Glad you had fun making it and so happy to hear your efforts have been recognized in print. Congrats! Hugs!

  5. Beautiful my friend! What a nice project! I so wish I could come and hang out and craft with you – I would learn so much. You need to open a store!! LOVELY pillow. And I agree, this year is going by way too fast! XOXO

Leave a Reply

