Nesting

Nik with Spring Nest

I have been a bit behind this year in my seasonal decorating. Easter is just two weeks away, and I’ve hardly done anything to prepare. This weekend, though, I was determined to change that, and with my little Missy’s help, we did haul up the Easter bins from the basement.  I still have some fluffing to do, but it’s beginning to look quite rabbity around here.

P1010086

This year, I am finding myself drawn to a simple, natural palette. I have so many brightly colored Easter things, but I seem to be craving the peaceful and soothing tones of nature more. And since I feel that decorating should follow your heart, I am keeping things calm, and quiet, and clean.

P1010082

I wanted to share with you all some of the sweet things I’ve been making on my weekly crafty play dates. Rustic little things that are making me smile. Last week, we were on a nesting kick.

P1010083

I really love how our nests turned out, and they were quite simple to make. This one was made from simple hemp and twine. We dipped the strings in a bath of glue and water, and then wrapped them tightly around a small balloon. After letting the strings dry overnight, you pop the balloon, pull it out between the strands, and then cut your string ball into two halves. We added handles made from real vine wrapped in wire.

P1010084

The eggs are real, too. My friend, Paige, keeps chickens, and these are from her hens. She carefully blew out the eggs and then we added flecks of paint in two different colors. It’s a bit hard to tell in the photos, but these eggs are the most beautiful light blue/green color. They come from her Easter Egger chickens, which lay the most amazing pastel colored eggs.

P1010085

I made another, smaller nest from the rusty wire we used on the handle. I just wrapped and wove, wrapped and wove, until I had a wee small nest.

P1010089 And what’s a nest without a chick?

P1010087

So we made one of those, too. :)

Happy Monday to you, my friends! Thanks so much for stopping by!

19 thoughts on “Nesting

  1. You’ll never seize to amaze me Audrey!
    I must try these nests they are so beautiful and I love the natural look!Gorgeous eggs…you inspire me so much!
    and take a look at that Chick awwwwww…
    absolutely adorable!

    Thank You!

  2. I always love to see your house decorations. Love the looks of that cute little nest with those eggs.. And the little chic is to cute.

    I do hope you have a wonderful week.

    Hugs~

  3. Fabulous! LOve the baskets… love the rustic look!
    ANd the chick is just too cute!
    KNow what you mean… 2 more weeks til EAster and hardly anything Springy or Eastery decorated… where does time fly?

  4. Oh good grief is that peep not adorable! All of the baskets turned out fabulous. The soft natural look of your decos is really nice. Love the eggs! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

