Authentique Design Team

Woo hoo! Hi everyone! Today I get to share some secret happy news that I’ve been sitting on for the past couple of months!

Authentique DesignTeamMember_button

I am SO honored and excited to say that I’ve been asked to join the Authentique Design Team! Today, three other talented new design team members, along with myself, are being introduced on the Authentique blog. Can you believe it? I have to say….I’m still in a bit of shock!

In honor of my big day today, I wanted to share a special project I made for Authentique’s CHA booth featuring their adorable Valentine line called Lovely.

My Love Paper Heart

You all know how much I love to make seasonal home decor projects for the holidays, and this little paper heart pillow is one of my favorite ideas for Valentine’s Day. It’s sooo easy to make a pillow from some paper and a bit of stuffing, and this little cutie looks great tucked into a basket or a bowl, propped on a stack of books, or nestled into your favorite armchair.

My Love Paper Heart3

I adore all the patterns in the Lovely collection, and wanted to use a lot of them here, so a patchwork design was the perfect way to showcase many patterns together. It may seem a bit tricky to paper piece a more complex shape, like this heart, but I have a quick and easy tip that’s a real time saver. I first cut out my base shape from scratch paper, and then I adhere random strips and blocks of patterned papers over the base shape. Don’t worry about the edges, just make sure you cover the entire base shape completely. Turn the piece over and using the base shape as a guide, cut out your finished piece. Repeat the process on a second heart for the back of the pillow, and for a bit of extra detailing, machine stitch between each panel of paper. Adhere trim, or in this case, the edging of paper doilies, to the top heart and then stitch the two hearts together, leaving an opening to stuff the pillow before stitching closed.

My Love Paper Heart2

After cutting off the decorative edge of several paper doilies to create the ruffled trim around my heart, I was left with just the plain inside centers. Instead of letting those go to waste, I used them to make a fun shabby flower for the center of the pillow. I simply scrunched up the doilies, stacked them together, and topped them with a few additional flower shapes I punched from patterned paper. Added the flower, along with a big bow, and finished things off with tags made of some of the adorable embellishments from Lovely’s Paper Crafting Assortment.

Thanks so much for stopping by, and a huge thank you for letting me share my happy news with you!

authentique-signature-audrey

Supplies:

Authentique Lovely 6×6 Bundle #LOV009
Authentique Lovely Paper Crafting Assortment #LOV013
Die: Papertrey Ink
Doilies: Wilton
Trim: May Arts, Offray
Buttons: My Mind’s Eye

35 thoughts on “Authentique Design Team

  1. Wohoo!!! Congratulations!!!! And congratulations to Authentique Design!!! You are a perfect match for sure. Love, love, love your little paper pillow. Soooo adorable!!!! Good luck and can’t wait to see what else you’ll make for them!

  2. Congratulations Audrey! You are so perfect for this team and I’m really happy for you! You are going to be awesome, with a side of awesome, topped with awesome sauce!! YEAH! This project today is absolutely lovely. :-)

  3. YAY! I’m so excited for you! Authentique’s paper are so perfect for your crafting style and here’s the proof in the pudding. The heart pillow is fabulous Audrey. I think you should just have your own magazine of home decor ideas. :-) Hugs!

  4. This is soooo very precious, Audrey! I LOVE your work and am so excited to have you designing with us at Authentique! CONGRATS!

  5. I saw this the other day, but I am just now getting around to stopping by and telling you congratulations!!! I can’t wait to see what you create and share with us! I always love what you make and that heart project is amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

