Live Among the Flowers

May was a busy birthday month for me. First it was my friend, Susie’s, birthday, then it was my mom’s. And this last week, it was my friend, Joanne’s, turn.

Joanne loves nature and natural elements, and the colors green and blue. And being one of my craft-buddy friends, I know Joanne really cherishes things made by hand. So I stitched her up a sweet little pillow combining all of her favorite elements. The look on her face when she saw this absolutely made my day.

The base of the pillow is made from burlap. I made a little handle for the top from hemp that I threaded through the burlap, and added a rolled felt flower and seam binding bow to dress things up.

The main panel is muslin. I found a sweet bunny pattern online that I used for the rabbit. The grass and flowers I just drew in by hand with a light pencil line, and then stitched over. Outline stitch for the bunny. Backstitch, lazy daisies, and french knots for the flowers and grass.

When I was finished with the embroidery, I dyed the muslin with walnut ink crystals diluted in water. Gave it a good soak, and then while the fabric was still wet, I added some light blue and yellow coloration using my ink pads and a watercolor brush. Stitched the muslin to the burlap and then finished things off with a little fabric banner tag. Don’t you love that sentiment?  It’s a stamp from Prickley Pear’s Clearly Beautiful Flowers set. Stamped it in dark brown ink onto a piece of excess fabric. Cut it into a banner and attached it with a safety pin.

For more ideas using Prickley Pear rubber stamps, be sure to visit the blog today. The rest of the team has some beautiful things to share with you all.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you a wonderful day!

25 thoughts on “Live Among the Flowers

  1. What a SWEET friend you are!! Joanne must feel SO loved to be given a gift that reflects her appreciation of nature and her favorite colors, and was made with your own hands!!

    A PRECIOUS gift, Audrey!

  2. Your stitching projects are so precious…reminds me of the pillowcases and arm chair doilies my grandma used to make. I love that stuff! Isn’t it the best when a gift recipient really appreciates your handiwork? I love how you colored the muslin with all the subtle colors. And yes that sentiment is beautiful and prompting me to make a visit to the PP blog.

  3. Hi Audrey! This is such a sweet and thoughtful gift! I’m sure your friend was thrilled to receive it! It’s such a pretty project. Thanks for sharing your wonderfulness with all of us! :-)

  4. Ohh my goodness, this is ever sooo cute, Audrey! What a super Birthday gift for your friend… very lucky friend! I adore that tag you stapmed and added to this!

  5. I can only imagine how much your friends face lit up when she saw this. It’s just filled with crafty love. :-) I love your cards, but it’s always fun to see your other kinds of crafty projects too and this one is topping my favorites list at the moment. Adorable Audrey! Hugs!

  6. Thank you for your visits, Audrey. I love your work! This one is especially so creative. I’ve admired your work from diff publications and it’s wonderful to finally “meet” you.

Leave a Reply

