Mother’s Day Pocket

Happy Monday, my friends! Hope you all had a lovely weekend. Did you get lots of scrappy goodies made on Saturday for National Scrapbooking Day?

I’m afraid my yard sale kept me away from my scraproom this weekend. But I do have a fun project to share with you today for Prickley Pear Monday. This week, with Mother’s Day fast approaching, I made a little pocket and tag gift set for mom.

The base of this project is a library pocket. I cut a panel of patterned paper slightly wider than the pocket and then covered that with a layer of pretty fabric. Machine stitched the fabric to the paper and then added it to the pocket card. Dressed it up with a few strips of ribbons and a seam binding bow. I dyed some felt to match my project, and then die cut a pair of leaves with the Oak & Maple Leaf Die to tuck into the bow.

Since I don’t always have the right color of felt on hand, I’ve found an easy trick for dying my own. Just add a few drops of re-inker into a shallow pan of water and soak your felt for a few minutes. You will end up with beautiful color, every time.

The sentiment is from the Butterflies 2 Clear Stamp Set. I cut it into a little banner strip and tucked the sentiment into a memo pin.

Inside the pocket is tucked a kraft shipping tag. I added some hand-stitched flowers and a wavy border along with more trim. A pair of butterflies from the Butterflies 2 Clear Stamp Set are stamped above the flowers.

Besides the tag, the pocket is a great place to tuck a small gift for mom. Seed packets for the gardener, tea bags for the tea lover, or even a gift card, would be a perfect fit.

For more stampy inspiration using Prickley Pear Rubber Stamps, be sure to visit the blog. The rest of the team has some sweet things to share with you today. And I’ll be back later this week with a special Prickley Pear Blog Hop project using their new spring release. Thanks so much for stopping by today. Wishing you all a wonderful day!

28 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Pocket

  1. Love, love, love, love and LOVE your stitched tag! Swoon! :) I have a mom’s day project post coming up this week too! It’s a Doodley Bug project where we made gift and card combos. Fun! :)

  2. Oh my goodness!!! The pocket is so sweet and gorgeous! Love the stitching on your tag with the pretty little yellow flowers! So many great ideas for a little pocket! Thanks so much for the inspiration…love it!!!

  3. Wow! WOW!!! You are AMAZING! What a beautiful pocket and tag. LOOOVE the felt leaves and the crochet tag. Soooooo beautiful!!!!!!!

  4. You are entirely to creative and crafty, Audrey! Love what you did with this!! I really, really need to use my felt more… :)

  5. Adorable!! And such a cleaver idea to color the felt! I’ve been hand dying material and it’s so much fun! I love your pocket and the ruler and the flowers! Made with such love :-)!!!!

  6. OMG this is sooooooo cute Audrey!!! LOVE the pocket and the tag is absolutely adorable!! Love the handstitched flowers, your mom is going to love it!! Hope you’re having a great week!

  7. WILL be casing this one! I have some of those library pockets and couldn’t figure out how to use them. Now I know. :-) Thanks so much for the inspiration Audrey! Love your hand stitching. :-) Hugs!

Leave a Reply

