Birthday Celebrations

Hi Sweeties! Thank you, thank you to everyone for the happy birthday wishes for Nik! You all helped to make her special day even MORE special with your sweet comments. I have to say, we had the most wonderful day! The rain stopped and the sun came out, and we spent an absolutely beautiful afternoon at the lake. Missy Nik got to eat out for lunch and dinner, and was spoiled with lots of presents, too. I don’t think any fourteen year old could have asked for a better day.

What my little peanut wanted most was art supplies. Besides her sketchbook, Nik loves to paint, so she got everything she needs to create her own works of art from canvases and paint to brushes and sponges and a palette. And in taking after her mother, my little girlie is a true lover of all things Halloween. I found her some Winnie the Pooh Halloween pieces to start her off on her own Halloween collection. And of course, Glammie slipped her a bit of cash. I’d say that’s a pretty good haul, wouldn’t you?

Nik went straight to work on one of her new canvases. LOVE to see such enthusiasm!

And of course she did some sketches out at the lake.

And in the midst of all the other fun, we even had time for a little Easter egg dying. A favorite family tradition!

This year, we tried a technique I found on Pinterest. Drizzled rubber cement and neon food coloring. SO much fun!

It’s been such a wonderful birthday! We are truly blessed!

I hope that you’re having a very blessed Easter weekend, too!

16 thoughts on “Birthday Celebrations

  1. Awww, great photos, Audrey! Nik sounds like she had a wonderful birthday, and she’s a budding artist to boot! My 22-year-old son asked for drawing supplies for his recent birthday. He went right to work drawing a bunny–and it was very good if I do say so myself! Love the design of your eggs. I’m off now to color mine, make a cake, and make potato salad to take to Anabelle’s for dinner tomorrow. Have a great Easter!

  2. Wow – what a day for Niki! She has some true talent! Those sketches are awesome!!!!!!!!

    I love her sweet smile too!! You all look so great on the stairs too!!!

    I know you’ll have a great Easter all together!!!

    Maria :)

  3. YAY! I’m so glad Nik’s day worked out so well. She’s was pretty productive at the lake. LOL Great sketches. :-)
    Have a happy, happy Easter Audrey!

  4. Fabulous photos, Audrey, especially that last one… LOVE it! It looks like Nik had a wonderful birthday with tons of great gifts… I believe she’s one talented girl… just like her Mom!
    Have a happy and blessed Easter!
    Hugs!

  5. So happy Nik had a great birthday!!! Those are some lovely sketches she drew from being at the lake…how fun! And, those Easter eggs are super uber COOL!! Thank you for sharing all the photos! Have a wonderful weekend and Happy Easter, hugs!!!

  6. What a cute family you have Audrey! So glad Nik had a great day. Looks like she is quite talented with her art :) My kids always ask for art supplies too – I am happy to oblige them with that! Have a blessed Easter!

  7. I am so pleased you all had a great day and I love Nik’s sketches. It’s so great to say kids who have an interest in something that his handmade rather than being glued to their computer games or i-pods.

    And I love your family picture – you all look so happy!

Leave a Reply

