Fourteen Already!

Hi everyone! Happy Friday and happy Easter weekend to you all! Besides being a holiday, today is a very special day for us. And we are ready to celebrate. Today, my sweet peanut Missy Nik turns fourteen years old.

Here’s my little birthday girl with her birthday treat of choice, Snickerdoodle cookies. An unconventional birthday cake, it’s true, but it works for us. Cookies are a perfect option for those of us (hem hem Miss Nik) who don’t like icing of any sort.

I know…….crazy, huh?

But I do love the sight of fresh-baked treats in my old cookie jar. One of the homey-est sights ever. Hopefully we are in for more treats later today, if it stops raining. The birthday girl wants to go out to lunch and then head to her favorite spot at the lake for a bit of fresh air, rest and relaxation, and drawing in her sketch book. Keep your fingers crossed for us that the weather turns nice.

I have another treat to share with you today. A card I made for this week’s Easter Cards & Gift Bags highlight on the Glue Arts blog.

I don’t know about you all, but I am completely smitten with yellow and gray these days. Love them paired here with my favorite kraft cardstock from The Kraft Outlet.

Papers are My Mind’s Eye and Basic Grey. I added lace and seam binding, a button and paper doily, and a grungy tag stamped with an Easter greeting.

The center egg is a fun little piece I made from recycled chipboard and a bit of fabric. Really like how it turned out. I can see making a string of these for an Easter banner. Here’s some quick step-by-step photos, if you’d like to give it a try.

For more detailed directions and a complete supply list, please visit the Glue Arts blog.

And thanks so much for stopping by today, my friends! I wish you all a very wonderful weekend!

18 thoughts on “Fourteen Already!

  1. Happy Birthday to Miss Nik!! YAY!!! Wish I could say I don’t like icing. LOL Those cookies look awfully good too though. Hope the day clears up for her and she can spend her special day like she wants.
    Your card is super cute Audrey. Love the egg idea and thanks so much for showing how you did it. :-) Hugs!

  2. Happy, Happy Birthday to Miss Nik! I’m with her…not a cake fan because of the icing…snickerdoodles, now…YUM! I LOOOOOOOVE your card…GORGEOUS…I’m such a fan of that color scheme!

  3. Wow!!! You never cease to amaze me! Another fabulous creation from you, Audrey! Just love how you made the fabric egg on this card! It gives great dimension! It’s very lovely in yellow and gray! Happy 14th birthday to your daughter! Happy Easter to you and family, also! Take care, hugs!!:-))

  4. Happy Birthday Nik! The sun is now shining on your special day! Those cookies look awesome! Like you bought ‘em from a bakery! And what an adorable Easter card! LOVE the fabric egg! :)

  5. That card is crazy cute! I adore the fabric egg and I am going nuts over all the gray and yellow right now too!

    Happy Birthday to your daughter and Happy
    Easter too!

  6. Happy birthday to Miss Nik! I think I am going to ask for a cookie cake for my birthday – I much prefer cookies over cake! I LOVE this card Audrey!. Love yellow and gray and I love kraft, but have never paired them – this is absolutely stunning! Thanks for the tutorial! I have got to try this!

  7. Hi Audrey! What a nice post! I sure hope the weather turned nice for your birthday outing. What a sweet daughter you have! Your card for today is just wonderful. What a nice fresh color palette for Easter. Have a lovely weekend and Happy Easter! XOXOXO

  8. Happy B’day miss nik!!! She looks awfully happy with those Snickerdoodles :-) I love them too!!!Beautiful card Audrey!! Happy Easter!!

  9. Happy Birthday Miss Nik – I hope you all had a great day yesterday!
    Mr P has his birthday today, so we are carrying on for you with the celebrations…he he

    I never heard of Snickerdoodle cookies so I looked them up and I can understand now why Nik loves them.

    The card is fabulous and I love how the egg centerpiece came together

  10. HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to your sweet Nikki!! Hope that you had a LOVELY day together! (I’m SURE you did, even if the weather didn’t cooperate.)

    Were you able to spend some time by the lake??

    Thanks for posting “How-To” photos and instructions for creating your CHARMING Easter card!

    Audrey, I wish you and your family a JOYOUS Resurrection Day tomorrow ~

  11. Awww, Happy Belated birthday to your DD! (since i’m getting to my blog visits today). Those snickerdoodles look yummy!!!!!!!!

    LOVE that cut out egg in the card! So creative! But you’ve heard that already haven’t you :)

    Hope you have a Happy Easter and great weather!!!

  12. Happy Birthday, dear Nik! Hummmm… yummy snickerdoodles. Who needs a cake… rightI
    Your card is so gorgeous… lots of fabulous layers and THAT COLOR COMBO… PERFECT! Love the fabric, the stitching, the lace and the seam binding bow… wow!!!

Leave a Reply

