Friends

I have an aunt who’s very crafty. For as long back as I can remember, Aunt Jean has always been into some type of project that would keep her hands busy. When I was a little girl, she knit me a set of Barbie clothes that I just adored. I lovingly played with those clothes and saved them all these years, and have enjoyed watching my own daughter play with them in her turn. Last year for Christmas, Aunt Jean sent everyone in the family a pair of crocheted slippers. And this past Friday, I received another sweet gift from my aunt. For no reason. Just because. And boy, did it ever make my day.

Look at me and my little peanut in our new hats! Although I realize that I don’t look good in hats, and believe me, I do realize that, I’ve learned something about myself. I LIKE hats! I really do. They are so snuggy and warm, and who cares what I look like in them, anyways.

I wore my hat out to the lake for my date with Nik.

While Nik wore shorts and a tank top. What a study in contrasts we must have been. :)

Nik worked away in her sketchbook, creating a picture to give to my brother for his birthday. The drawing depicts Uncle Paul’s two most favorite things…..his cat and his computer. So perfect for him.

And I worked away on my stitching. I made one little pillow for a friend.

And one for me.

 I do love Fridays. SO glad another one has rolled around again already. And I hope that whatever you do today, that it’s a wonderful day for YOU!

Uncategorized

22 thoughts on “Friends

  1. We are both early birds today! I love your hats! Your Aunt is so sweet to surprise you with them, what a talent to be able to crochet and knit! My stepmom tried to teach me how to crochet once and she was so patient with me but I never could quite get the hang of it. Nik is quite the artist! LOVE your little heart pillows, what a sweet decoration! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  2. This post is full of so many good things!! Love the hats, regardless of your thoughts you two looked splendid! Nik did an awesome job with her drawing and yor French knots are exquisite your friend must be so happy , what a treasure to receive!

  3. Love your hats Audrey! Warmth is the key for me too! What a great Aunt to give these hats! Your little heart pillows are so incredibly sweet! Love the hand embroidery! Have a happy Friday!

  4. What a sweet auntie to think of you all and create some handmade goodness to send! Love your stitchy little pillows! By-the-way…your French knots are awesome! Not that I have much practice with them, but when I’ve tried them, they tend to be too loose and not close enough for the fabric! Oh…you should submit some of these to simply handmade!

  5. You both look adorable in those hats! What a sweet gift!!!

    Such a great sketch by your daughter!!!! I’m sure that gift will be appreciated too! Your stitching is great. Love those hearts :)

    Have a wonderful weekend!!

  6. I have a sweet Aunt Jean too. :) :) Love those adorable hats. And I see that you have a very talented artist in your house. Fab sketch & stitching too. :)

  7. I just think things made by hand are the ultimate treasures! You and Nik look great in the hats–I don’t think you should think otherwise. Love Nik’s gift for her uncle and the clever caption! And, of course, your handmade heats are adorable! Happy Friday!

  8. Well I’d say that Nik’s gift will make Uncle Paul smile. It sure made me. Is that a bit of Mom’s wit passed down to daughter? LOL Love your little stitched hearts. Yyour friend will love that gift too. Your aunt’s gifts are wonderful and you’re right–who cares what you look like if it makes you happy. :-) Enjoy those hats! Hugs!

  9. beautiful photos Audrey…you both look lovely in your special ‘made with love’ hats, what a blessing your Aunt is!!
    love your sweet pillows too!
    Enjoy your wonderful Friday!
    hugs & blessings

  10. Your daughter’s drawing is too cute!! :) Made me smile! Love those little pillows you’re making! They’re so sweet and just the right size for a thoughtful little gift! As for your hat, I think it looks cute on you! I’ve always said I don’t like hats on myself either. I think it’s because it’s a different look than I’m used to and I’m always afraid I’m going to have to take it off, revealing terrible hat hair! LOL! Hats look so fun, though!!! Love yours in orange…one of my favorite colors these days! :)

  11. Those hats are adorable.. I love to wear hats also.. And I look ridiculous in them. But like you said I don’t care I wear them anyway!!! Love seeing the other goodies you and your daughter created.. I sounds like you guys had a great weekend..

    Hugs, Linda

  12. You are all so creative, wish I would have gotten some of that in my blood. Love the hats you look adorable in them. Love to see all the things you do. cant wait to see more.

  13. I love the pillow, its a lovely gift. I also like Nik’s drawings and would love her to do a video response to my “How to draw a cat” challenge on youtube.com/d99drawings

  14. Aw how nice!!We all need an Aunty Jean…she is so talented those hats a fantastic..you and your little peanut Nik look adorable Audrey…
    and I do love your heart too:) xxx

Leave a Reply

