Gift of the Season

Hi again! Welcome to Prickely Pear Monday. Today I have a bright and festive holiday card that I am so excited to share with you!

Isn’t this happy? Just makes me smile. I had a ball mixing and matching Prickely Pear rubber stamps and coordinating dies to make this sweet card, and I used a bunch on here. I have been loving the Holly and Berries Clear Stamp Set and Die this season, and once again, I turned to these favorites to kick off this project.

I started by die cutting 6 leaves from a solid patterned paper and stamping the coordinating leaf outlines in Stampin’Up’s Old Olive ink. Stamped the red rubber Gift of the Season sentiment in the same ink on white cardstock, and trimmed around the image. I added a light wash of sponged ink over the sentiment for a vintage feel, and layered it onto a Spellbinders die cut label and part of a paper doily. All were centered on a pieced patterned paper card base.

Once the label was in place, I was able to tuck my holly leaves here and there to form clusters on either side of the sentiment. Added red button holly berries and bows to each cluster. The final touch is a sweet little cardinal that I added to the top leaves. He is just part of the adorable Plump Cardinal on Berry Branch red rubber image that I cut out to use here. He is stamped in red ink on solid pink patterned paper, lightly colored with Prismas, and coated in glitter. So glam, and a perfect match for the pretty glittered paper. The girly girl in me can’t help but to love that little bit of sparkle!

Hope you’ll pop by the Prickely Pear Rubber Stamp blog to see the beautiful creations the rest of the team has created to share with you. And on Thursday, we’ll be launching our next sketch challenge for the month of December, so stay tuned! Thanks guys! Wishing you all a wonderful day.

21 thoughts on “Gift of the Season

  1. So pretty.. and I love birds too! More sewing I see, and I meant to tell you, that in all the time since I started scrapping/paper crafting LAST December-ish, I had all this time RESISTED using my sewing machine on paper! But the snowman did it! That’s the project that made me give it a try… And it was o.k…. Didn’t hurt a bit! (0; Have a great day! xx

  2. What a lovely, lovely card! The little cardinal is such a precious little touch – and just perfect! I’m not familiar with Prickley Pear stamps – but your mixing and matching looks like everything was meant to be together!

  3. Love everything about this card… the coordinating stitching, the beautiful holly leaves, that darling cardinal, the sentiment, and on down to that red button… just perfect!!!

Leave a Reply

