Boo Ghost

Hey everyone! Happy Thursday to you! Today is my post day on the Donna Salazar blog. This month, Donna’s team is focusing on crafty projects for Halloween. Could there be a more perfect theme for little old me?

I love this time of year. Love the cooler weather and the changing colors of the leaves, and I LOVE Halloween. One of my favorite things to do is to decorate my house for the changing seasons and holidays. Even small homemade projects, like my sweet ghost here, can really add a special festive spirit and sense of fun to your home.

Not only is he simply adorable, this little ghost is really quite simple to make. It started with a free ghost template I downloaded from the internet and traced onto Donna’s Crafty Chronicle paper. I just love the text background it creates, and all the quirky quotes and bits to the chronicle will just make you smile. To give the background some depth and interest, I cut patchwork blocks of Chronicle paper and adhered them to the main ghost shape in a random fashion. I then lightly sanded the paper and liberally blended Jasmine Mix’d Media Inx over the entire surface using Clearsnap’s Stylus Blender tool. Inked the edges of the ghost with Honey Mix’d Media Inx and stitched the shape onto flattened kraft grocery bag paper.

His face was created with circle punches. I embossed some Antiquities Artistic Paper with Clearsnap’s Top Boss White Embossing Powder, punched two 1  1/4″ circles and cut them into lima bean shapes for the eyes. The mouth is black cardstock punched in a 1 ” circle,cut like a figure 8, and stitched in place. I added a pair of antique buttons to finish off the eyes.

His snazzy little vest was made from Antiquities Artistic Paper and painted with Donna’s new Candle Glow Smooch Spritz. I added distressed dots embossed with white embossing powder for a touch of detail, and a closure made from Zutter’s Hang It All Antique Brass hardware.

His sign is a popsicle stick colored with Leather Mix’d Media Inx dressed up with some chipboard flags and tiny alpha stickers. Instead of stitching both arms to the kraft background, I folded one arm down to hold his little banners.

I then stitched my ghost onto a second piece of kraft grocery bag paper, creating a “pillow”. Be sure to leave an opening large enough to fill your ghost with cotton batting before stitching all the way closed. Then simply cut your ghost out, edge with ink, and enjoy!

_______________________________________

Supplies:

24 thoughts on “Boo Ghost

  1. Sooo adorable! I love his snazzy vest with the closure on it! You have created some very fashion forward creatures this Halloween season. Call the Bravo network….”Craft Project Runway” is sure to be a hit!! :) I’ve been meaning to congratulate you on joining Epiphany but life got in my way (darn it!) Belated Congrats! You go girl :)

  2. You are KILLING me girl!! You just WOW WOW WOW me more and more with every project you post! You are so inspirational!! I loveeeeeeee this! I loveeeeeeeeeeee how you clasped his vest together! :):):):):):):):):):):)

  3. Seriously! Your Halloween projects are AMAZING, so much fun, this one totally cute. Makes my fingers itch and my heart ache for a Halloween tradition here. :)

  4. That is one cute ghost you have created.. I love everything about it.. Right down to that buckle.. You are so creative!! I just know there is going to be something fun to look at when I am here..

    I also love to see the photos of your house decorated up..

    Hugs, Linda

  5. Your Blog has definitely started my day off with a big smile! LOVE LOVE LOVE your ghost!!! You are just amazing Audrey!! I love how you have him tucked into the fall colored flowers, what a fabulous Fall decoration!!

Leave a Reply

