Treats for my Sweets

It’s been a quiet day today. A quiet day at home doing all those little things that always seem to need doing. Laundry. Cleaning.  The important stuff, even if it’s not much fun. But in amidst the work, I try to tuck in a little sunshine. Like playing with this sweet vintage Valentine my mother sent to me in the mail today. Arranged with some of my new-found antique treasures and my daughter’s rubber-band ball, I can’t help but feel a bit nostalgic for the olden carefree days of childhood.

Did YOU ever receive a Valentine like this?

This particular Valentine is a special treasure. It’s one my mother gave to my father back when they were in grade school together. How adorable that my father kept it. And now after all those years, and 50 years of marriage, my mother has given it to me. So yes, it’s been a cleaning day….

But what a happy cleaning day.

And while we’re on the topic of Valentines, I’ve been working on mine. Hoping this Valentine Bark will win the hearts of my favorite sweethearts.

It looks like Valentine Sweetheart #1 approves.

And I do believe Valentine Sweetheart #2 is smitten.

Definitely smitten.

But what about Valentine Sweetheart #3?

Have I won HER heart?

I think so!

15 thoughts on “Treats for my Sweets

  1. And if you don’t mind; I’m smitten too:) Receiving a precious valentine card like this is such a gorgeous gift. Heartfelt, sweet and a precious memory of your parents falling in love. And how lovely that they still are in love and in good health. That’s the most important; family and in good health.
    And your treats…they look so yummy… and now I’m hungry :)
    Have a wonderful day!

  2. It’s wonderful to keep little mementos like the Valentine over the years! These things become more precious over the years. The pretzels look so delicious!

  3. oh, your parents are too cute, audrey! that is so sweet that your father kept the valentine’s day card all these years :). makes me smile.
    your valentine’s day bark looks delicious! love the mix of salty and sweet! and your sweethearts are definitely sweethearts and so are you :).
    thanks for sharing and i wish you a wonderful thursday! *hugs* steph :)

  4. Hello,
    That’s a very sweet valentine from your mother! I love how you’ve displayed it! Your White-bark snack does look luscious!
    I can tell it is by the happy faces.!
    Happy Valentines,
    Kathy

  5. What a wonderful post.. I was smiling the whole time I was reading it.. That vintage valentine is so sweet. What a wonderful keepsake..

    And I have to say those sweets look Yummy!! I can see the love in there eye’s..

    Hope you have a wonderful day!!
    Hugs, Linda

  6. What a priceless treasure that Valentine is! I LOVE the sweet story behind it! That bark looks sooooo yummy! And yep with sweetheart #3 it definitely looks like a case of puppy love to me!

  7. What a precious Valentine story! I love old Valentine’s, but one from your parents, from grade school???? That is AWESOME. Thanks for stopping by for a visit. All your Valentine goodness is making me feel a little guilty. I made Valentine’s yesterday that needed to get in the mail. Didn’t really love them. I still have a couple more to make. Hopefully I’ll do better. I guess it’s the sentiment that counts the most anyway.

    Karen

  8. What a sweet and wonderful Valentine to have after all these years! WOW! That is just simply amazing!

    That V-day bark looks DELISH!! I always love making little things like this, I will have to run to the grocery and pick up some pretzels and chocolates! yummy!! TFS!!

Leave a Reply

